Instagram Direct lets you send messages to one or more people. You can send the following things as a message on Instagram Direct:
Photos or videos you take or upload from your library
Posts you see in Feed
Disappearing photos and videos
To see messages you’ve sent with Instagram Direct, tap in the top right of Feed. From there, you can manage the messages you’ve sent and received.
When you send a post from Feed using Instagram Direct, it’ll only visible to people who can already see it. For example, if you send a post from a private account as a message, only people who follow that account will be able to see it.
Photos or videos sent with Instagram Direct can’t be shared through Instagram to other sites like Facebook or Twitter, and won’t appear on hashtag and location pages.
Tap in the top-right corner of Feed.
Tap in the top-right corner.
Select 2 or more people you’d like to send to, then tap Next.
Type a message, tap to select a photo or video from your library or tap to take a new one.
Add optional effects, filters and a caption.