Facebook-owned instant messaging application WhatsApp is developing a new ‘Group Invitation‘ feature which will give users control to regulate how they join WhatsApp group chats. This new feature will enable users to control who is allowed to add them to groups. In other words, no group admin will be able to add you to any group without your consent.
Earlier You could exit the group on your own or mute the group. But now, if someone wants to add your number to a group, they will have to seek your permission first. The feature is in beta testing right now and WhatsApp will regularize the feature later after the function is tested on the beta versions.
According to the reports, under this feature you will find the option of ‘who can add me to groups’ where you will find these choices:
- the first is Everyone,
- then My Contacts and
- lastly Nobody.
The first option is what everyone has now. In the second option, those in your phone’s contact list will have the permission to add your name to any group they may form. But if you choose the last one, Nobody, then the group admin will have to send you an invitation to join the group,p which will be kept open for 72 hours. If you don’t take any action on the invitation, then it lapses.